Art and Music

The school has a purpose built Art room and Drama/music room. Art and music stimulate a very different part of student's intellect and imagination. The school wants every child to take time to explore their talents. Every child is different and keeping that in mind we have given many choices to the children.  They are:
 
Art & Crafts
- painting and drawing
- clay modeling
- working with fabric
- craft using various materials
 
Vocal Music
- singing
- musical appreciation
 
Art and music facilities offers a calm, positive and purposeful atmosphere that stimulate quality creative work. Students value the time to reflect and create in a personally supported environment. For many of our most vulnerable youngsters, this has been key in both their continued attendance in school and their increasing engagement in their education.
 
The Art and Music Room provide a secure, comfortable environment in which the children are regularly encouraged to reflect, which in turn develops their esteem and sense of self-worth. Art and music provides opportunities to develop the way children express and manage their emotions. The projects cater for children with a wide range of artistic abilities so children focus on what they can do and they learn to celebrate individual and collective successes.

Event Quick View

Be Sun Smart This Summer

School Term Dates

Semester 1

Term 1

Mon 4 Feb - Fri 12 April

Break

Sat 13 April - Sun 28 April

Term 2

Mon 29 April - Fri 5 July

Break

Sat 6 July - Sun 21 July

Semester 2

Term 3

Mon 22 July - Fri 27 Sept

Break

Sat 28 Sept - Sun 13 Oct

Term 4

Mon 14 Oct - Thu 19 Dec

School Details

Southwell Primary School

26 Grandpre Crescent, Hamilton Hill, 6163.

Telephone: (08) 9418 1622

Email: southwell.ps@education.wa.edu.au

School Start Times 

9am - 3pm - Monday Tuesday Thursday Friday 

9am - 2:30pm - Wednesday 

Recess - 11am - 11:15am Daily 

Lunch - 1:15pm - 1:45pm Daily